So long, 2016.

Its safe to say that nobody will be sorry to see 2016 end. We’ve had several icons and role models taken from us this year, many way too soon and all too quickly. In January Bowie’s death was a shock and I’m starting to believe what they say “David Bowie was the glue holding this universe together” and I really hope that the following tweet is true, because thats the heaven i’d want to exist, to aspire to be apart of one day;

With the news of Carrie Fisher’s death yesterday, I have to admit it stunned me. With the news of her ‘stable condition’ I had found relief and convinced myself death would never take our Princess, and yet 2016 really knows how to fuck things up. I have to admit, it was only a few weeks ago that I finally got around to watching the Original Star Wars trilogy and so only recently have I seen for myself the power and fiery passion that was Princess Leia. However Carrie Fisher has been an inspiration to me for some time, being unapologetically herself, damn everyone else. She showed the world that sometimes you jut have to laugh through the pain.

Personally 2016 has been an odd year. Its been a year of in-between states, forgotten friendships and new beginnings. I hope 2017 will be a year of learning, of successes, of new  and lasting friendships.

My main New Years Resolutions for 2017;

  • Be yourself. Unapologetically.
  • Just do it. Whatever it is you want to do. Do it.

“Stay afraid, but do it anyway. What’s important is the action. You don’t have to wait to be confident. Just do it and eventually the confidence will follow.” – Carrie Fisher

My less serious but just as important Resolutions for 2017;

  • Don’t give up on the German lessons, continue with the self study too
  • Read 12 books (for leisure) in the year, complete that puzzle book
  • Eat more healthy and be more active, if that injury heels soon, take up ballroom dancing too
  • Learn to code properly in Python, and then buy that cryptography in python book that caught your eye

And finally, I want to be a person Carrie Fisher would want me to be. Me.

rs_600x600-161227105154-600-carrie-fisher-princess-leia

Leave a Reply

