Netflix Book Tag

I love doing these tag challenges, its a great form of procrastination, so when I saw this ‘Netflix Book Tag’ over on ThriceRead’s blog I thought I’d do a post too.

RECENTLY WATCHED. THE LAST BOOK YOU FINISHED READING:

The Raven by I.A.Ashcroft. (Of which I reviewed over here.). Its pretty much standard in terms of the genre of book I read, i.e. fantasy/sci-fi, though with the added bonus of it being a cross between the two. The first in a series though, so I’m diligently waiting for the others to be released so I can get some answers!

TOP PICKS. A BOOK THAT HAS BEEN RECOMMENDED TO YOU BASED ON YOUR PREVIOUSLY READ:

I’m pretty much already recommended the ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ by G.R.R.Martin i.e. the Game of Thrones book series. And I admit it is pretty much everything I love in story; awesome kick-arse female characters, fantasy/magic, wit, mystery, fighting and a good dose of realism. And I do love the tv series. However the one time I did pick up the first in the series, I only got to about chapter two before I got bored a set it down. Maybe i’ll go back to it one day, but until then I’m pretty content to just watch the show.

RECENTLY ADDED. THE LAST BOOK YOU BOUGHT:

OOooo so I’m super excited to read the last book I bought. Its non-fiction, history and all about the history of witchcraft in England and Scotland. Duly named ‘Witch, Warlock, and Magician: Historical Sketches of Magic and Witchcraft in England and Scotland’ by W.H. Davenport Adams, the book was published in 1889. And bonus; it was only 99p on the Kindle store.

POPULAR ON NETFLIX. BOOKS THAT EVERYONE KNOWS ABOUT:

The obvious one would of course be the Harry Potter series. Whilst at uni I don’t actually have my HP books me as they take up way too much room in transit. I do however have my two copies of ‘The Tales of Beedle the Bard’ (one English, one German) and my copy of the Fantastic Beasts screenplay.

COMEDIES. A FUNNY BOOK:

The Reformed Vampire Support Group by Catherine Jinks. This book was actually lent to me by my dad and it is a great read! Very very funny, and a great antidote to all the paranormal sexified vampire stories made popular by twilight.

DRAMAS. A CHARACTER WHO IS A DRAMA QUEEN/KING:

Too many characters to name, from the Gone series by Michael Grant. I really hate drama kings and queens, especially in dystopian-esque books where I just want to shout ‘YOUVE OTHER THINGS TO WORRY ABOUT’ at them for hours on end until they buck their ideas up, and some characters really did grate in this series. However there was a certain amount of lee-way I was allowing given that they were all under the age of 15.

ANIMATED. A BOOK WITH CARTOONS ON THE COVER:

Alice in Wonderland and other stories. Its from the Barnes and Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection and is hands down the most beautiful book I own.

WATCH IT AGAIN. A BOOK/BOOK SERIES THAT YOU WANT TO RE-READ:

I am very keen to re-read the His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman before the BBC series that they are making is brought to our screens. Whilst it remains one of my favourite series, it has been years since I last read it, and I am intrigued to see what I think about it now that i’m no longer a child reading it.

DOCUMENTARIES. A NON-FICTION BOOK YOU’D RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE:

Tickling the English by Dara O’Briain is possibly one of the funniest books I’ve read. But then considering he’s one of my favourite stand up comedians, thats probably not a surprising statement to make. O’Briain wrote this book as he was touring the UK, and it consists of part tour-diary, part-history lessons, part-travelogue and as the blurb states ‘Nostalgia, identity, eccentricity, gin drinking and occasional violence… these are just some of the themes [explored]’. I would wholly recommend this book to any fan of Dara’s and whom wouldn’t mind a little bit of a history lesson along the way.

NEW RELEASES. A BOOK THAT JUST CAME OUT OR WILL BE COMING OUT SOON THAT YOU CAN’T WAIT TO READ:

Waking Gods by Sylvain Neuvel, the second book in the Themis Files trilogy. It’s expected release date is April 4th and I am buzzing to read it! The first in the series was outstandingly good and I’m certain that this will live up too and exceed expectations.

Read any of these books? Have your own opinions? Let me know, I’d love to chat about them! .X

Leave a Reply

